Having a colossal historical background, the old part of Dhaka city, known as Old Dhaka or Old Town, is home to a broad range of architectural heritage starting from the vestiges of the Mughal Empire to the British Colonial buildings. Being the centre of the independence movements of Bangladesh, Dhaka also hosts some significant national monuments and structures.

The existence of a settlement in the area that is now Dhaka dates from the 7th century. The area was ruled by the Buddhist kingdom of Kamarupa and the Pala Empire before passing to the control of the Hindu Sena dynasty in the 9th century. The Islamic Mughal Empire soon seized control of the city and turned it into a centre of trade and governance. In the years of their vigorous rule, the successive governors and princely viceroys who ruled the province adorned it with many noble monuments, mosques, tombs, fortifications and ‘Katras’, often surrounded with beautifully laid out gardens and pavilions. The city passed through another phase under the rule of the British, until it became the seat of the eastern division of Pakistan after Indian partitioning.


Religious Sites


    • Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection, Armanitola Road, Old Dhaka.
    • Baitul Mukarram Mosque, The national mosque of Bangladesh. It was built in 1968, and is the 10th largest mosque in the world.
    • Chawk Mosque, Chowk Bazaar, Old Dhaka.
    • Dhakeshwari Temple (Dhakeshwari Jatiya Mandir), Dhakeswari Road, Dhaka. National Temple of Bangladesh.
    • Holy Rosary Church (Tejgaon Portuguese Church), Farmgate, Tejgaon, Dhaka.
    • Hussaini Dalan Mosque, Old Dhaka.
    • International Buddhist Monastery, Merul Badda, Gulshan, Dhaka.
    • Musa Khan Mosque, University of Dhaka. Located west of Shahidullah Hall at Dhaka University.
    • Ramakrishna Mission, 27 R K Mission Road, Gopibag, Dhaka.
    • Saat Masjid (Seven-domed Mosque). A Mosque built during the 15th century.
    • Sitara Mosque (Star Mosque), Armanitola Road, Old Dhaka. It was built in the early 18th century.

Historical Buildings


  • Banga Bhaban (Official residence of the President), located in the city.
  • Curzon Hall, University of Dhaka.
  • Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban (National Parliament), Sher-e-Bangla Nagar, Dhaka.
  • Lalbagh Fort (Bengali: Lalbagh Kella), Lalbagh, Old Dhaka.
  • Old High Court Building, Kazi Nazrul Islam Avenue, Ramna,



  • 1857 Memorial (Bahadur Shah Park), Sadarghat.
  • Aparajeya Bangla, University of Dhaka.
  • Central Shaheed Minar, In front of the Dhaka Medical College, University of Dhaka.
  • Jatiyo Smriti Soudho (National Martyrs’ Memorial), it is situated in Savar (35 km north-west of the city).
  • Mausoleum of National Leaders (Sher-e-Bangla A.K. Fazlul Haque, Hossain Shahid Suhrawardy and Khaja Nazimuddin), situated in southwestern corner of Suhrawardy Uddyan.
  • National Poet’s Graveyard, (Adjacent to the University’s mosque).



  • Baldha Garden, Wari, Old Dhaka.
  • National Botanical Gardens, Mirpur, Dhaka.
  • Ramna Green (Ramna Park), Ramna (Near Ruposhi Bangla Hotel).
  • Suhrawardi Uddyan (Ramna Racecourse), Suhrawardi Uddan Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
  • Bangabandhu Memorial Museum, Road – 32, Dhanmondi, Dhaka.
  • Dhaka Zoo (Mirpur Zoo), Mirpur, Dhaka.
  • Institute of Fine Arts (Charukola Institute), University of Dhaka, Shahbag.
  • Liberation War Museum, 5, Segun Bagicha, Dhaka.
  • National Museum, Shahbag, Dhaka.
  • National Museum of Science and Technology, Agargaon, Sher-E-Bangla Nagar, Dhaka.
  • Sadarghat River Front, A huge river port on the banks of the Buriganga River.